TCU College Advising Corps

The TCU College Advising Corps helps low-income, first-generation, and underrepresented students find their way to colleges that will serve them well. By providing well-trained, enthusiastic advisers to underserved Tarrant County high schools, the TCU College Advising Corps aims to increase college-going rates at partner high schools within the Greater Fort Worth community.

TCU College Advising Corps advisers are placed as full-time college advisers in local underserved high schools. Advisers work to foster a college-going culture within the schools they serve, which is one of the best predictors of whether students will pursue higher education. Advisers become part of their school’s community. They collaborate with teachers and administrators to tie college-going into the life of a school, devise creative approaches to reach and connect with students, and most importantly, open the eyes of students and their families to the possibility of college. Equally important, advisers supplement, not replace, existing high school counseling staff, thereby reaching more students.

The TCU College Advising Corps serves over 40,000 high school students in 24 schools in the following districts: Arlington ISD, Birdville ISD, Crowley ISD, Everman ISD Fort Worth ISD, Lake Worth ISD and White Settlement ISD.

TCU College Advising Corps Team

Matt Burckhalter, M.B.A., M.Ed.
Director
817-257-4746
m.burckhalter@tcu.edu
Melondy Doddy, M.Ed.
Assistant Director
817-257-6774
m.doddy@tcu.edu
Audra Guereca
Program Specialist
817-257-7690
a.guereca@tcu.edu

2019-2020 College Advisers

School District High School Name E-mail
Arlington ISD James Bowie Elise Shropshire e.shropshire@tcu.edu
Arlington ISD Juan Seguin Jacob Trevino jacob.j.trevino@tcu.edu
Arlington ISD Lamar Victoria Post victoria.a.post@tcu.edu
Arlington ISD Sam Houston Timi Ijabiken tim.ijabiken@tcu.edu
Birdville ISD Haltom Dylynne Dodson dylynne.h.dodson@tcu.edu
Crowley ISD Crowley Elle Meyers e.meyers@tcu.edu
Crowley ISD North Crowley Cole Polley c.polley@tcu.edu
Everman ISD Everman Becca Moreno r.moreno@tcu.edu
Everman ISD Everman Connor Wynne connor.wynne@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Arlington Heights Candace Soto c.g.soto@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Benbrook Middle/High Maia Gunn maia.gunn@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Carter-Riverside Emily Lopez e.y.ruppe@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Diamond Hill-Jarvis Abel Reyes, III abel.a.reyes3@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Dunbar Caitlin Reed caitlin.reed@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Eastern Hills Arrianna Cervantes a.g.cervantes@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD North Side Michelle Hooten m.tapia@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD O D Wyatt James Sang j.sang@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Paschal Allie Eckerman a.eckerman@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Polytechnic Brian Hernandez brian.hernandez@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD South Hills Emi Gomez emi.gomez@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Southwest Hailey Smith hailey.smith@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Trimble Tech Delaney Clark delaney.clark@tcu.edu
Fort Worth ISD Western Hills Valerie Gonzalez v.gonzalez18@tcu.edu
Lake Worth ISD Lake Worth Mason LeDonne mason.ledonne@tcu.edu
White Settlement ISD Brewer Cassandra Kneblik c.r.kneblik@tcu.edu