Courses have carefully been selected and crafted to meet the educational needs of students, as well as the requirements of the Texas Educational Agency and the State Board of Education. All students must pass the EC-12 Pedagogy Certification exam along with their content related exam(s).
For information about certification, see the Clinical Teaching Handbook. To be sure that they are meeting the requirements for graduation and certification, students should meet with Heather Doyle the semester before student teaching.
There is a 5-time limit on taking a single certification exam. Any tester who has attempted a test (regardless of how many attempts before August 31, 2015) may test up to four more times after September 1, 2015. Additional attempts would require SBEC permission.
As of March 15, 2017, the Texas Education Agency Board requires the implementation of an Accountability System for Educator Preparation Programs (ASEP) technology fee, as required by 19 TAC 229.9(7). This fee is required for each candidate seeking certification; the candidate must pay a $55 fee when admitted to the program for the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 years. For the 2018-2019 academic year and beyond, certification candidates enrolled in the program will pay a fee of $35 per year. The fee will appear on your TCU student account.
Levels of Certification
Teacher candidates who wish to teach in an accredited institution must be certified. To obtain certification, candidates must complete the defined course work and pass the required state exams for certification.
- Early Childhood Education (EC-6)
- Middle School Education (4-8)
- Secondary Education (7-12)
- All Level Certification
- Deaf Education
All-level certification is available for those who wish to teach:
- Physical Education
- Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Generally speaking, students follow the same sequence of courses as secondary education students. All-level certification students complete a student teaching experience that includes elementary and secondary schools.