< See All News

Alexander, Reed Named Faculty of the Year

The Academic Affairs Committee of the Student Government Association’s House of Representatives has selected its 2015-16 Faculty Members of the Year, including a professor and a doctoral student from the College of Education. From 326 anonymous nominations, SGA and a team of student volunteers selected the most outstanding professor in each school or college.

TCU’s Student Government Association represents the collective voice of the student body and serves the spirit of the Horned Frog community through service, programming and legislation for change on campus.

The list of winners, and comments from students’ nominations, are as follows:

Dr. Curby Alexander—College of Education

“Dr. Alexander goes above and beyond any professor I have ever seen. I was blown away by his passion and that he knows my name in a class of 100 students. I learn from him, and he makes me excited to be an educator one day.”

Dr. Brenda Reed—Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences and a doctoral counseling & counselor education student

“Dr. Reed was my clinical instructor last semester. I feel like I grew the most as a student when she was my instructor in the hospital. She is an incredible teacher and does everything possible to make her students better nurses. I had an accident this semester with my wrist, and she was the person I [called]. She is continually there for me even though she is not my teacher this semester. She’s an outstanding person and probably the sweetest teacher I’ve ever had. She always builds her students up and talks to us like we are equals. She has by far been my favorite instructor in the three years I’ve been a student at TCU. I cannot think of anyone more deserving of this award.”

Read full story