< See All News

Four TCU Alumni Named Teaching Excellence Chairs

Fort Worth Independent School District selected 16 recipients as 2019-20 Academic Chairs for Teaching Excellence, including four TCU alumni:

Lauren (Dudderar) Caldwell, Westcliff Elementary School
Kroger Chair for Teaching Excellence in Special Education
B.S. ’13 Early Childhood-6th Grade Education
M.Ed. ’14 Special Education



Cassie (Garcia) Hanson, Trimble Tech High School
Chase Chair for Teaching Excellence in Secondary English
B.S. ’11, Secondary School Education
M.Ed. ’16 Curriculum Studies



Heather (Denton) Hedges, Paschal High School
TTI, Inc. Chair for Teaching Excellence in Secondary Mathematics
B.S.’09 Mathematics, Educational Studies minor
M.A. ’13 in Teaching of Mathematics



Nathan Pena, Young Women’s Leadership Academy
Sewell Lexus & Infiniti of Fort Worth Chair for Teaching Excellence in Humanities
B.S. ’05 Communication Studies
M.Ed. DePaul University



The Academic Chairs for Teaching Excellence program recognizes outstanding classroom teachers in Fort Worth ISD. Recipients each receive a $5,000 honorarium and are recognized at a luncheon, sponsored by community partners. Chairs are encouraged to continue their professional development and knowledge sharing with peers.