< See All News

Faculty Awards and Publications

Congratulations to Gabriel Huddleston, inducted as a member of the national honor society Professors of Curriculum. This professional organization, limited to 100 active members, promotes scholarship and service in the field of curriculum studies. Nominees for membership are invited and approved based on their current and potential for scholarship and service and must have at least three years of experience in the field. Since its inception in 1950, members have been considered leaders in curriculum studies, working to progress the field in new directions.

Huddleston also received an Early Career Award from the American Educational Research Association.  

francyne huckabyM. Francyne Huckaby’s book, Researching Resistance: Public Education after Neoliberalism (Myers Educational Press), received the Honorable Mention for the 2020 Outstanding Book Award from Division B (Curriculum Studies) of the American Educational Research Association. The division took nominations for books for two categories – outstanding and honorable mention. The committee recognized the book for its contribution to the curriculum studies field and for telling a complex story in an accessible and critical way. 

The American Educational Research Association’s Special Interest Group in Supervision awarded Jo Beth Jimerson and Sarah Quebec Fuentes’ paper, ”The Role of Leadership Content Knowledge in the Provision of Instructional Feedback,” as their Distinguished Paper of the Year. 

Sarah Quebec Fuentes also published a book with the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics based on professional development workshops she’s held at schools: S3D: Fostering and Improving Small-Group, Student-to-Student Discourse.