< See All News

College of Education Welcomes New Academic Year

TCU celebrated the opening of the academic year with a virtual Convocation on Sept. 15. Dean Frank Hernandez welcomed College of Education students, faculty and staff to a challenging year, though he said the college’s mission will remain the same: to prepare exemplary leaders for diverse educational settings and related fields who are reflective, ethical, innovative and committed to all learners. He said the college will build on that mission moving forward – aiming to increase the number of well-qualified educators to better reflect the demographics of our communities.

Dean Hernandez welcomed himself to the College of Education as a new faculty member, and more College of Education faculty were recognized:

Chancellor Boschini recognized Dr. Miriam Ezzani’s research, teaching and work in the area of school leadership for social justice. View Video

Dr. Cynthia Savage was named a winner of the Deans’ Award for Teaching. Nominees for the Deans’ Award for Teaching have been full-time TCU faculty members for at least five years and have demonstrated a particular dedication to teaching and teaching-related activities. View Video

Dr. Sarah Quebec Fuentes was nominated for the Deans’ Award for Research and Creativity. Nominees have been full-time tenured or tenure track faculty members at TCU for at least five years, and their research or creative activity has been recognized nationally or internationally. View Video

Dr. Robin Griffith was nominated for the Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Achievement as a Creative Teacher and Scholar. View Video