Courses have carefully been selected and crafted to meet the educational needs of students, as well as the requirements of the Texas Educational Agency and the State Board of Education.
There is a 5-time limit on taking a single certification exam. Any tester who has attempted a test (regardless of how any attempts before August 31, 2015) may test up to four more times after September 1, 2015. Additional attempts would require SBEC permission.
As of March 15, 2017, the Texas Education Agency Board requires the implementation of an Accountability System for Educator Preparation Programs (ASEP) technology fee, as required by 19 TAC 229.9(7). This fee is required for each candidate seeking certification; the candidate must pay a $55 fee when admitted to the program for the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 years. For the 2018-2019 academic year and beyond, certification candidates enrolled in the program will pay a fee of $35 per year. The fee will appear on your TCU student account.
Note to students or alumni seeking Principal or Superintendent Certification:
Upon graduation from the M.Ed. or Ed.D. program, students seeking principal certification are encouraged to complete the TExES exam within one year. Alumni will not be permitted to take the exam more than seven years after their date of graduation. To obtain permission to test, those who have exceeded the seven-year time allotment must take additional coursework, including Law & Ethics, Instructional Supervision and a two-semester, 160-hour practicum, and must pass a practice certification exam.