TCU College Advising Corps

The TCU College Advising Corps helps low-income, first-generation, and underrepresented students find their way to colleges that will serve them well. By providing well-trained, enthusiastic advisers to underserved Tarrant County high schools, the TCU College Advising Corps aims to increase college-going rates at partner high schools within the Greater Fort Worth community.

TCU College Advising Corps advisers are placed as full-time college advisers in local underserved high schools. Advisers work to foster a college-going culture within the schools they serve, which is one of the best predictors of whether students will pursue higher education. Advisers become part of their school’s community. They collaborate with teachers and administrators to tie college-going into the life of a school, devise creative approaches to reach and connect with students, and most importantly, open the eyes of students and their families to the possibility of college. Equally important, advisers supplement, not replace, existing high school counseling staff, thereby reaching more students.

The TCU College Advising Corps serves over 40,000 high school students in 24 schools in the following districts: Arlington ISD, Birdville ISD, Crowley ISD, Everman ISD Fort Worth ISD, Lake Worth ISD and White Settlement ISD.

TCU College Advising Corps Team

Matt Burckhalter, Director
m.burckhalter@tcu.edu

Melondy Doddy, Assistant Director
m.doddy@tcu.edu

Audra Guereca, Program Specialist
a.guereca@tcu.edu

2017-2018 College Advisers

Adviser

Email Address

HS School District

HS Assignment

Kimberly Burdi

k.burdi@tcu.edu

Arlington ISD

James Bowie High School

Jasmine Tucker

j.nichole.tucker@tcu.edu

Arlington ISD

Juan Seguin High School

Ashley Crowder

ashley.crowder@tcu.edu

Arlington ISD

Lamar HS

Alma Luna

alma.g.luna@tcu.edu

Arlington ISD

Sam Houston High School

Alicia Mayfield

a.a.mayfield@tcu.edu

Birdville ISD

Haltom High School

Connor Wynne

connor.wynne@tcu.edu

Crowley ISD

Crowley High School

Audrianna Ebel

a.a.ebel@tcu.edu

Crowley ISD

North Crowley High School

Rebeca Moreno

r.moreno@tcu.edu

Everman ISD

Everman High School

Vanessa Ramirez

vanessa.ramirez@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Arlington Heights High School

Lezli Shelander

lezli.shelander@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Benbrook Middle-High School

Michelle Prokof

michelle.prokof@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Carter-Riverside High School

Chris Garcia

chris.garcia@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School

Patrice Spears

p.spears2@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Dunbar High School

Brandon Terrell

b.j.terrell@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Eastern Hills High School

Sue-jin Green

s.green@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

North Side High School

Tyler Casteel-Provost

tyler.j.casteel@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

O.D. Wyatt High School

Maggie Moore

maggie.moore@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Paschal High School

Abel Perez-Arita

abel.m.perez@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Polytechnic High School

David Jones

dj.w.jones@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

South Hills High School

Ashley Aguilar

ashley.m.aguilar@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Southwest High School

Glen Williams

g.n.williams@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Trimble Tech High School

Bianca Arredondo

b.arredondo@tcu.edu

Fort Worth ISD

Western Hills High School

Ariela Martinez

ariela.martinez@tcu.edu

Lake Worth ISD

Lake Worth High School

Marlee Motley

marlee.motley@tcu.edu

White Settlement ISD

Brewer High School

 


“TCU

Earn Masters + Teaching Certificate in 1 Year

Read more

Chadwell Shaping Tomorrow's Leaders

Taking the Lead On Shaping Tomorrow's Leaders

Read more